Mapping A Chapter

I’ve been meaning to post this for a while, but here’s a little outline of the current chapter I’m working on. Picking a room in the library with a whiteboard and sharpies to aid me as I write has been super useful. I’m finding the board helps me keep in mind the bigger picture of the chapter. I find that it’s so easy to get bogged down in the nitty gritty details of a sentence or paragraph, but having an outline to look up at every once in a while really helps me keep in mind the larger scope–very much like the painter who needs to outline her work in broad strokes before she can add those beautiful little details. Or better yet, like the seamstress (I’ve just begun to sew my first dress!) who must go through the business of blocking out patterns before the nitty griddy shaping and alterations can really happen. And like the seamtress, who is constantly altering the initial pattern the more she works, my little outline gets modified the more I write the nitty gritty particulars of my chapter. So in short: I’m a real big fan of this writing strategy. 
chapter 2 mind mad

This outline progresses:

thisie

Leave a Reply

